Press release

Baobab Condemns Rejection of Pro-gender Justice Bills

Baobab for Women’s Human Rights condemns the rejection of Bills to enhance the lives of Nigerian Women. At the commencement of the global Women’s History Month on the first day of March 2022, just few days to the International Women’s Day, 95.9% of male lawmakers at the National Assembly made history as the most unfriendly set of lawmakers when they voted against ALL the bills aimed at ensuring gender justice through the advancement of the rights of Nigerian women as full citizens. The gender bills proposed in the amendment of the Nigerian Constitution which sought to enhance the lives of

Read More
Accede to the Maputo Protocol


Read the petition: EN Lire la pétition: FR Ahead of the 20th Anniversary of the Maputo Protocol on 11 July 2023, the SOAWR Coalition maintains its ratification campaign for the remaining 11 Member States who are yet to ratify the women’s rights treaty: Botswana, Burundi, Central African Rep., Chad, Egypt, Eritrea, Madagascar, Morocco, Niger, Somalia and Sudan. The Solidarity for African Women’s Rights (SOAWR) Coalition urges the remaining 11 African Union Member States to ACCEDE TO the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Rights of Women in Africa. For more resources on lobbying your

Read More

Statement by Alliances for Africa at the 69th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights

Extract from the Statement “Honourable Chairperson, one year since the start of the Tigray War, reports of sexual violence against women and girls point to the continued use of rape, sexual slavery, sexual humiliation and other forms of sexual abuse as a weapon in this conflict. This is in addition to the humanitarian crisis that has been exacerbated by attacks against humanitarian agencies and their workers, blockades and the looting and destruction of essential humanitarian supplies. While we acknowledge the continued work of the Commission of Inquiry on the Situation of the Tigray Region of the Federal Republic of Ethiopia

Read More